Disappointed yet hopeful

I hate to say it but, going into March, I’m disappointed in myself. Without going too deeply into it, I decided to keep track of the amount of words I write and the amount of time I spend writing. The results aren’t anywhere near where I need them to be to hit my goals.

However, this is not the end of the world.

I’m not going to try and catch up, there’s too much and I would drive myself crazy. I am, going forward, going to do my best to do what I need to do from now on. The details may change but the ultimate goal of replacing my day job with my writing is still there and I can still make it.

What I’ve learned is that I spend more time thinking about writing than I do actually doing it. I’ve also learned that it’s true that a tracked number grows as I’ve done more writing this year than I had (by extrapolation) this time last year.

It’s all progress. Maybe not as quick as I’d hoped, but still progress.

2 Comments

Filed under ebook, writing

2 responses to “Disappointed yet hopeful

  1. Accountability partner. Maybe you need one, maybe I need one. And maybe we find one and check in with them every evening at a particular time.

Leave a Reply

