Wherein I Wax Philosophical For a Few Moments

I wonder, sometimes, how much of our lives is passive. Where do we stop actively being a part of our day to day and just take what people hand us. It’s different for everybody, I suppose, but something about being told what to do and when to do it offends my soul. Maybe that’s why I hate working for other people. I do it, though, the way most other people do it. There are people who are happy to be told what to do at work, what to watch when they get home, how to perform in the bedroom, and they’re content with being mediocre.

I don’t understand. I hate being told what to do and I’ll do the opposite just for spite. If someone asks, I’m likely to bend over backwards to help but a bitchy email or a passive aggressive sigh will just piss me off. Often, I’ll make a point to call out the behavior for what it is and that makes me…unpopular with certain people.

There are a few shows I’ll watch when I feel I can afford the time away from pursuing my goals but mostly I dislike television and movies. For various reasons, I’m coming to loathe video games as a time suck and a form of chains to keep people content with what they have, where they are and the lack of control they have over their lives. And it’s a lack of control because they’ve given it up, they’ve chosen to remain where they are and numb themselves with the small accomplishments of the pixels on the screen.

I don’t know, maybe I’ll feel differently when I’m making enough to get away from the job that is slowly sucking the life out of me one bitchy, passive aggressive email at a time.

500 words written today, break to write the blog post and then back at it. Should probably have dinner at some point, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

